Trump’s New Refugee Policy Targets These 11 Countries

Trump Ban

          President Donald Trump’s 11-nation refugee ban was partially blocked by a judge who found that it violated federal rule-making requirements. Demonstrators stand in a parking garage holding signs and an upside down American flag outside of John F. Kennedy International Airport (JFK) airport to protest U.S. President Donald Trump’s executive order blocking visitors from seven predominantly Muslim nations in New York, U.S., on Saturday, Jan. 28, 2017. The Trump administration issued an order Tuesday that resumed the resettlement of refuges in the United States, but said the applications of citizens from 11 “higher-risk” countries would be considered on a case-by-case basis during a new 90-day review period. The administration has so far declined to name the countries officially and publicly but two officials—one from the administration and the other from an advocacy group—separately confirmed that the countries were Egypt, Iran, Iraq, Libya, Mali, North Korea, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen. All of those countries—except North Korea and South Sudan—are predominantly Muslim.


What to Read Next...

Leave a Comment